Wolverhampton Wolves v King’s Lynn Stars


Sports Insure Premiership R2 2023

Monmore GreenSutherland Ave, Wolverhampton, WV2 2JJ

65 - 25


Date Tapes Up Competition Season Additional Info
Monday, June 26, 2023 7:30 pm Sports Insure Premiership R2 2023 Wolverhampton win the aggregate point


WOLVERHAMPTON slammed King’s Lynn 65-25 to run up the biggest victory in the Sports Insure Premiership this season.

Home reserve Zach Cook scored his first-ever full maximum as he went through the card with a 15-point haul, whilst Steve Worrall was also unbeaten with 13+2 from five rides and skipper Sam Masters had ten from four – whilst Ryan Douglas also joined the points feast with 13+3.

Wolves won 12 of the 15 races and enjoyed 11 heat advantages, with the Stars’ sole success coming from guest Nick Morris in Heat 15 as they took a 4-2.

Morris won three races to finish on 11 points, picking up nearly half of the visitors’ total on his own.

Wolves manager Peter Adams said: “Normally when you get meetings like this the racing is poor as well, but I thought it was quite entertaining tonight, and it’s nice to stretch our legs and get a big win under our belt.

“Obviously the opposition was poor, there’s no getting away from that, but all of our boys were in the groove.

“We thought it was going to be a tough match and we got off to a good start and just kept our foot on the pedal throughout.”

Newly appointed Lynn boss David Hoggart said: “The guys rode their hearts out and it wasn’t for a want of trying.

“What we need to do is keep everyone working together, pulling together, hopefully I can bring some stability through to the end of the season and if the guys can start enjoying their speedway again, they’ll start scoring points again.”

WOLVERHAMPTON 65: Zach Cook 15, Ryan Douglas 13+3, Steve Worrall 13+2, Sam Masters 10+2, Rory Schlein 8+3, Leon Flint 6+2, Luke Becker r/r.
KING’S LYNN 25: Nick Morris 11, Nicolai Klindt 4, Simon Lambert 3+1, Thomas Jorgensen 3, Anders Rowe 2, Chris Harris 1, Kye Thomson 1.
Wolverhampton win the aggregate point

Available here

Photo credit: PAUL ROSE