King’s Lynn Stars v Leicester Lions


Sports Insure Premiership R1 2023

Adrian Flux ArenaSaddlebow Road, Kings Lynn, PE30 5LA

43 - 47


Date Tapes Up Competition Season
Monday, June 19, 2023 7:30 pm Sports Insure Premiership R1 2023


LEICESTER maintained their play-off charge with a 47-43 win at King’s Lynn for their second victory on the road in the Sports Insure Premiership.

Stars skipper Nicolai Klindt raced to a sensational 17-point haul from seven rides after falling in Heat 1, and Artem Laguta scored a 12-point maximum from his four completed outings.

But Laguta was unable to appear in the closing stages of the meeting after suffering an ankle injury when he clashed with Chris Harris in Heat 10.

Max Fricke (11+2) and Nick Morris (11+1) top-scored for a solid Leicester side with the two Australians securing a 3-3 in Heat 15 after the Stars had set up a last-race decider.

Leicester boss Stewart Dickson said: “We got the away win, even though we had one or two riders who weren’t quite on it, and it’s all about cementing our place in the top four.

“I’ve got to give a special mention to Nick, it was great to see him showing some form away from home and he looked a lot more comfortable on the bike tonight.

“We got ten points at reserve again, and Drew (Kemp) was involved in a big 5-1 in Heat 4 just like last Thursday against Brady Kurtz, so that’s certainly helped us.

“But it’s a seven-man effort and I’m very pleased overall. I know they lost Laguta but at the same time they wouldn’t have got a tactical in Heat 14 had he not been withdrawn.”

Klindt said: “I felt we had what it would take to win tonight, but unfortunately Artem got injured, Erik wasn’t what we expected and also Kye (Thomson) found it tough after being our match-winner on Thursday.

“But I think we can be proud of ourselves, we weren’t giving up, we were fighting and it was great to have the support around the stadium.”

KING’S LYNN 43: Nicolai Klindt 17, Artem Laguta 12, Thomas Jorgensen 7+3, Kye Thomson 4, Jason Edwards 2, Erik Riss 1, Michael Palm Toft r/r.
LEICESTER 47: Max Fricke 11+2, Nick Morris 11+1, Richard Lawson 8, Justin Sedgmen 5+2, Jake Allen 5+2, Drew Kemp 5, Chris Harris 2+1.

Available here

Photo credit: DEREK LEADER