Ipswich Witches v King’s Lynn Stars


Sports Insure Premiership R1 2023

Foxhall Heath StadiumFoxhall Road, Ipswich, IP5 5LN

52 - 38


Date Tapes Up Competition Season
Monday, May 1, 2023 2:30 pm Sports Insure Premiership R1 2023


EMIL Sayfutdinov raced to a 15-point maximum as Ipswich took the local derby honours with a 52-38 win over King’s Lynn.

Sayfutdinov won all five of his rides and No.1 Jason Doyle was also unbeaten from four outings for the Witches, who stormed into a 12-point lead after the first four races in front of a big Bank Holiday crowd at Foxhall.

Nicolai Klindt top-scored for the Stars, who paid the price for a sluggish start to the meeting and are seeking a turnaround when the sides meet again in Norfolk on Thursday.

Witches boss Ritchie Hawkins said: “The track was tricky again today, but we started really well, and I was really pleased with us.

“We looked the determined team, and that is what I want to see. I am very happy with the win but for me it is not even quite half the job done as we need to win on Thursday.

“The top end were terrific again. Doyley went down hard in heat one and hurt his shoulder a little bit, but we know what we get with him, he got straight back on it, it doesn’t faze him. Emil’s first maximum was brilliant, it was a great performance from him.”

King’s Lynn manager Alex Brady said: “I’m bitterly disappointed with the scoreline. In a local derby, the fans want to see a win first and foremost, but the bare minimum is passion and desire, and I felt that the majority showed that from Heat 5 onwards.

“We were twelve down after four races, so Heats 5-15 was just a two-point difference, which included some ‘interesting’ refereeing decisions, so we battled and competed hard – but we cannot afford to give teams a head start as we have done so often this season.”

IPSWICH 52: Emil Sayfutdinov 15, Jason Doyle 11+1, Danny King 10+1, Danyon Hume 8+3, Keynan Rew 7+1, Joe Thompson 1, Erik Riss r/r.
KING’S LYNN 38: Nicolai Klindt 8, Frederik Jakobsen 7+2, Kyle Howarth 7+1, Thomas Jorgensen 5+1, Michael Palm Toft 5, Jason Edwards 4+1, Krzysztof Kasprzak 2+1.

Available here

Photo credit: JEFF HIGGOTT