Wolverhampton Wolves v King’s Lynn Stars


Sports Insure Premiership R1 2023

Monmore GreenSutherland Ave, Wolverhampton, WV2 2JJ

56 - 34


Date Tapes Up Competition Season
Monday, April 3, 2023 7:30 pm Sports Insure Premiership R1 2023


WOLVERHAMPTON skipper Sam Masters and guest Scott Nicholls both scored paid maximums in a thumping 56-34 opening win over King’s Lynn.

The Monmore side made the perfect start to their Premiership campaign with Masters unbeaten from five rides, and combining for three 5-1s with his regular race partner Steve Worrall.

Meanwhile Nicholls proved the perfect guest for injured Luke Becker as he finished with 11+1 from four rides, and Worrall picked up 10+2.

The Stars had a tough night although reserve Frederik Jakobsen impressed with 13+2 as he took his full quota of rides, and Michael Palm Toft also battled hard for nine.

Masters said: “It was awesome from the boys. You can’t underestimate King’s Lynn; they’ve got some good riders in their team and I don’t think they were bad, we were just really good.

“Scotty was so good last weekend at my Testimonial and it was a no-brainer to put him in, and it showed.
“What an awesome guy to have in the team, and what an awesome rider to have around Wolverhampton too.”

Lynn boss Alex Brady said: “Obviously it’s disappointing to come away with such a heavy defeat, although Wolves is a place where traditionally we struggle, and tonight was no exception.

“Fred was fantastic and Tofty came to the party a bit later on, but we didn’t have enough points from our top order, and there were a few mechanical gremlins for KK (Krzysztof Kasprzak).

“We were beaten by the better team on the night, and hopefully we can put it right when we entertain Wolves next week because the aggregate bonus point is still to play for.”

WOLVERHAMPTON 56: Sam Masters 14+1, Scott Nicholls 11+1, Steve Worrall 10+2, Rory Schlein 9, Ryan Douglas 8+2, Zach Cook 3, Leon Flint 1+1.
KING’S LYNN 34: Frederik Jakobsen 13+2, Michael Palm Toft 9, Josh Pickering 3+2, Thomas Jorgensen 3, Jason Edwards 2+1, Nicolai Klindt 2, Krzysztof Kasprzak 2.

Available here

Photo credit: STEVE FEENEY